Roundup: 10 Biggest Political Winners In 2023

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The year 2023 was a remarkable one for Nigerian politics, as the country witnessed the emergence of new leaders, the consolidation of old ones, and the reshaping of the political landscape.

Here are 10 of the biggest political winners in 2023, who made headlines for their achievements, influence, and popularity.

– Bola Tinubu: The former governor of Lagos State and national leader of the All Progressives Congress became the president of Nigeria after defeating his main rival, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party, in a keenly contested election.

Tinubu, who had been instrumental in the formation and success of the APC, campaigned on the slogan of “Emi lo kan” meaning, “It’s my turn” and promised to continue the legacy of his predecessor, Muhammadu Buhari.

He also secured the support of some key PDP defectors, such as Nyesom Wike and Godswill Akpabio, who boosted his chances in the south-south and south-east zones.

– Nyesom Wike: The former governor of Rivers State became the minister of the Federal Capital Territory and has formed part of the most influential allies of President Tinubu, after he formed a group of five aggrieved governors in the previous administration that supported Tinubu’s presidential ambition.

Wike, who had been a vocal critic of the All Progressive Congress and Tinubu, surprised many when he announced his switch of allegiance during the campaigns, citing the need for a president from the south. He delivered Rivers State to the APC in the presidential election,


About Author

Comments are closed.