Rivers Assembly To Rescreen, Reconfirm 9 Former Commissioners

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Rivers State House of Assembly will on Wednesday rescreen and reconfirm nine former commissioners who resigned from the State Executive Council in December.
The announcement was made in a statement signed by the Clerk of the house, Mr. Emeka Amadi, on Monday in Port Harcourt, the state capital.
The commissioners, including Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice Prof. Zacchaeus Adangor (SAN), Commissioner for Works Dr. Des George-Kelly, Commissioner for Special Duties Emeka Woke, Commissioner for Social Welfare and Rehabilitation Mrs. Inime Aguma, Commissioner for Finance Isaac Kamalu, Commissioner for Education Prof. Chinedu Mmom, Commissioner for Housing Dr. Gift Worlu, Commissioner for Transport Dr. Jacobson Nbina, and Commissioner for Environment Austin Ben-Chioma, are required to submit 40 sets of their Curriculum Vitae (CV), photocopies, and original copies of their credentials to the State House of Assembly at Legislative Quarters, the venue for the screening.
This move follows a wave of resignations in the State’s Executive Council on Dec 16, 2023, amid a political crisis between the Governor of the state, Fubara, and his predecessor, the Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike.
NAN also reports that the reinstatement of the former commissioners is part of the demands of President Tinubu’s peace agreement with Gov. Fubara.



About Author

Comments are closed.