Private Varsities Hit 149 As NUC Approves 2 More

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Federal Government has approved the establishment of two new universities, bringing the number of private universities to 149 and a total number of universities in the country to 274.

The institutions are Lighthouse University, Evbuobanosa, Edo State and the African School of Economics, Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja.

Speaking at the presentation of Provisional Licences to the two universities in Abuja on Thursday, the Minister of Education, Prof. Tahir Mamman, said the two universities were approved by President Bola Tinubu at the December 13, 2023 Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

Mamman charged the proprietors of the universities to capture skills and entrepreneurship courses, which are the current thinking of the present government.

He said that a substantive licence would be issued to the universities three years after the probation only if they met the requirements of quality assurance.

He, therefore, warned that the provisional licences may be withdrawn after three years probation if they fail to meet the full requirements.


About Author

Comments are closed.