Kano Assembly Clears 44 Nominees For LG Chairmen

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Kano State House of Assembly has cleared 44 nominees for confirmation as interim management committees for the 44 local government areas of the State.
Governor Abba Yusuf had in a letter in February requested the House to screen and approve the list following the expiration of the three years tenure of the former councillors and chairmen of the LGAs.
During yesterday’s plenary, the chairman of the Committee on Local Governments and chieftaincy, Hon. Zubairu Hamaza Nassau, while presenting the report, stated that all the nominees for the confirmation of appointment as interim management committee members of the 44 local governments were successfully cleared and are eligible.
Based on the recommendations of the ad-hoc committee report, the House unanimously agreed to appoint the nominees to the local government interim management committees.
The speaker of the House, Hon. Ismail Jibril Falgore commended the outstanding work and great efforts put in by all the sub-committees that made the final screening possible.
The resolution passed by the House will be forwarded to the governor of Kano State for the swearing-in of the members of all the 44 local government councils in the state, the assembly spokesperson, Kamaludeen Sani Shawai noted in a statement.
Meanwhile the interim management committee members are expected to serve for the period of three months before an election would be conducted.



About Author

Comments are closed.