INEC Gives Winners Certificates Of Return Today

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will present certificate of return to winners of last Saturday’s National and State Houses of Assembly re-run and bye-elections today.
The certificates of return will be presented to the newly elected three Senators and 15 Members of the House of Representatives at the Commission’s Headquarters in Abuja.
However, presentation of the certificates to the State House of Assembly members-elect will be conducted by the resident electoral commissioners (RECs) in the respective states where the bye-elections or re-run elections took place.
INEC national commissioner and chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun disclosed this in a statement released in Abuja on yesterday.
Olumekun said seven political parties; Action Democratic Party (ADP), All Progressives Congress (APC), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Young Progressive Party (YPP) won seats in both the National and State Houses of Assembly.
He said presentations for State lawmakers-elect are to be arranged by the RECs and are expected to be completed by the end of this week and encouraged them to liaise with the RECs for further details.The INEC Chief Spokesperson added that, detailed results from the elections are now available for public view on the Commission’s official website and social media channels.


About Author

Comments are closed.