Africa Awards 2019 Celebrates New Generation of Innovators, Creatives, Achievers

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Future Awards Africa 2019 on Thursday said it celebrated a new generation of young, innovative achievers between ages 18 –31 in its 14th edition that had over 100 nominees.

All of them were leading the change in their industries in Nigeria or globally.

Ms Doyinsade Adeolu, Communication Associate, The Future Africa Awards, said that out of the 100 nominees, 12 winners were selected across various categories such as Acting, Music, Public Service, Advocacy, Agriculture and Journalism.

She said this in Lagos after the award that the list included the highly coveted ‘Young Person of the Year’, won by Burna Boy, who was also recently nominated for the Grammy Awards for his album “African Giant”.

According to her, the event was hosted by musician, actor, entertainer and President of the Sweet Boy Association (SBA), Folarin ‘Falz’ Falana and award-winning photographer, singer and actress, Toni Tones, joining media personality, Taymesan Emmanuel and ex-Big Brother Naija Housemate, Khaffy Kareem.

The 2019 winners included Uka Eje, Agriculture, Sam Ajiboye, Media, Israel Adesanya, Sports, Olaseni Cole, Education, Zang Luka Bot, Technology, Sandra Tuboboreni, Fashion, Adetola Onayemi, Public Service, Ken Nwadiogu, Arts, Timini Egbuson, Acting, Hamzat Lawal, Advocacy, Isaac Success, Community Action, and Simi Drey Adejumo, On Air Personality.

Others were Dare Olaitan (Film Making); Tolani Alli (Photography); Shola Lawal (Journalism); Bukky Akomolafe (Professional Service); Damini ‘Burna Boy’ Ogulu (Music); Emmanuel Ademola Ayilara, Business and Otosirieze Obi-Young, Literature.

Some personalities who attended the awards event included Rotimi Amaechi, the Minister of Transportation, Segun Osoba, the former Governor of Ogun State and Jumoke Adenowo, the Special Adviser to the President on Ease of Doing Business.

Others were More Bogolo Kenewendo, Minister of Trade and Investment, Botswana, Debo Ogundoyin, Speaker, Oyo State House of Assembly, Owen Omogiafo, Managing Director, Transcorp Hotels; Toyin Abraham, actress and filmmaker and Shaffy Bello, actress and singer, among others.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the theme of the  14th Edition Africa Awards was “Nigeria’s New Tribe”.


About Author

Comments are closed.