Abbas Names New Chairmen, Deputies For House committees

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas, has named new chairmen and deputy chairmen for Standing Committees of the House.
At the end of the debate on the general principles of the proposed 2024 budget of N27.5 trillion on Friday, the Speaker, who presided over the session, made the announcement on the floor of the House.
Iritomi Thomas was named the Chairman of the Committee on Petroleum Resources Training Funds while the Deputy Chairman is Ajilo Shehu.
The Committee on States and Local Governments is to be chaired by Shehu Rijau while his Deputy is Vincent Bulus from Plateau State
Others included Ari Andulmumuni (Committee on Traditional Institutions) with Muhammed Abubakar as the deputy, the Committee on Food Security and Nutrition is headed by Chike Okafor and Peter Aniekwe as his deputy.
The Committee on National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure has Taofiq Ajilesoro as Chairman and Zanna Timbuktu as deputy.
Other appointments included Deputy Chairman, Committee on National Security and Intelligence, Martins George; Committee on Aviation Technology, Abiodun Akinlade; Committee on Digital and Communication Technology, Rahis Abdulkadiri as deputy chairman; Healthcare Services- Dennis Idahosa, Chairman; Foreign Affairs – Dibiagwu Okechukwu, deputy chairman; Federal Colleges of Education, Tanko Adamu- chairman; Public Sector and Institutional Reforms, John Dafang – deputy chairman and Felix Nweke as deputy chairman, Committee on Information, National Orientation, Ethics and Values.
The Committee on Interior has Ahmed Abdullahi as the chairman while the Intergovernmental Affairs Committee will be chaired by Nwachukwu Chukwugozie.
Other chairmen and deputy chairmen named by Speaker Abbas included Committee on Special Duties – Abdullahi Rashid, deputy chairman; Labour, Employment and Productivity – Muktar Zakari, deputy chairman; Police Institutions – Ali Goya, chairman; Renewable Energy – Aliyu Iliyasu, deputy chairman; Safety Standards – Suleiman Gunmi, chairman; Niger Delta – Umar Yako, deputy chairman; Diaspora – Tochukwu Okere, chairman; Science Research Institutions – Olaide Akinremi, chairman and Kabiru Ahmadu as deputy chairman.
Committee on Science Engineering has Inuwa Garba as the new chairman while his deputy is Jafaru Magaji; Women in Parliament – Blessing Chigeru, deputy chairman; and, Youth in Parliament – Muazu Gwarzo, deputy chairman.



About Author

Comments are closed.